Banshee

I saw a shadowy figure

in Duckett’s Grove

She was darkness

Her flowing gray hair

mussed

as if she was caught an a strong wind

But the air was still this night

It grew cold

bone chilling cold

I could see my breath

I could see my breath

this night

in July

This figure

This darkness

This specter

wore a shroud

and it too blew in the phantom wind

Then this shadow

this darkness

this curse

opened her mouth

and let out a shrill scream

that pierced the night

She was Banshee

and she felled me

in Duckett’s Grove.

Kathy Keogh

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Banshee

Leave a Reply

